Brussels, officially the Brussels-Capital Region, is a region of Belgium comprising 19 municipalities, including the City of Brussels, which is the capital of Belgium. The Brussels-Capital Region is located in the central portion of the country and is a part of both the French Community of Belgium and the Flemish Community, but is separate from the Flemish Region and the Walloon Region, located less than 4 kilometres to the south. Historically Dutch-speaking, Brussels saw a language shift to French from the late 19th century. Nowadays, the Brussels-Capital Region is officially bilingual in French and Dutch, although French is the majority language and lingua franca. Brussels is also increasingly becoming multilingual.

Unsplash photos

These are the most popular photos on Unsplash for Brussels.

Brussels Photographer: Stephanie LeBlanc

Brussels Photographer: Cosmin Serban

Brussels Photographer: Yogendra Negi

Find even more on

💬 city 🏷 brussels 🏷 belgium