Cape Town

Cape Town is one of South Africa’s three capital cities, serving as the seat of the Parliament of South Africa. It is the legislative capital of the country, the oldest city in the country, and the second largest . Colloquially named the Mother City, it is the largest city of the Western Cape province, and is managed by the City of Cape Town metropolitan municipality. The other two capitals are Pretoria, the executive capital, located in Gauteng, where the Presidency is based, and Bloemfontein, the judicial capital in the Free State, where the Supreme Court of Appeal is located.The city is known for its harbour, for its natural setting in the Cape Floristic Region, and for landmarks such as Table Mountain and Cape Point. Cape Town is home to 66% of the Western Cape’s population.

Unsplash photos

These are the most popular photos on Unsplash for Cape Town.

Cape Town Photographer: Tobias Reich

Cape Town Photographer: kylefromthenorth

Cape Town Photographer: kylefromthenorth

Find even more on

💬 city 🏷 capetown 🏷 south-africa