Nanjing, alternatively romanized as Nanking, is the capital of Jiangsu province of the People’s Republic of China. It is a sub-provincial city, and a megacity. The city has 11 districts, an administrative area of 6,600 km2, and a population of 9,423,400 as of 2021. Situated in the Yangtze River Delta region, Nanjing has a prominent place in Chinese history and culture, having served as the capital of various Chinese dynasties, kingdoms and republican governments dating from the 3rd century to 1949, and has thus long been a major center of culture, education, research, politics, economy, transport networks and tourism, being the home to one of the world’s largest inland ports.

Unsplash photos

These are the most popular photos on Unsplash for Nanjing.

Nanjing Photographer: Jennifer Chen

Nanjing Photographer: Kenneth Yang

Nanjing Photographer: Shio Yang

Find even more on

💬 city 🏷 nanjing 🏷 china