Austria, formally the Republic of Austria, is a landlocked country in Central Europe, lying in the Eastern Alps. It is a federation of nine federal states, one of which is the capital, Vienna, the most populous city and federal state. Austria is bordered by Germany to the northwest, Czech Republic to the north, Slovakia to the northeast, Hungary to the east, Slovenia and Italy to the south, and Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west. The country occupies an area of 83,879 km2 and has a population of around 9 million.Austria emerged from the remnants of the Eastern and Hungarian March at the end of the first millennium. Originally a margraviate of Bavaria, it developed into a duchy of the Holy Roman Empire in 1156 and was later made an archduchy in 1453.

Unsplash photos

These are the most popular photos on Unsplash for Austria.

Austria Photographer: Joss Woodhead

Austria Photographer: Paul Gilmore

Austria Photographer: Dimitry Anikin

Find even more on

💬 country 🏷 austria