Guyana, officially the Co-operative Republic of Guyana, is a country on the northern coast of South America, part of the historic mainland British West Indies. Guyana is an indigenous word which means Land of Many Waters. Georgetown is the capital of Guyana with the largest population. Guyana is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the north, Brazil to the south and southwest, Venezuela to the west, and Suriname to the east. With a land area of 214,969 km2, Guyana is the third-smallest sovereign state by area in mainland South America after Uruguay and Suriname, and is the second-least populous sovereign state in South America after Suriname; it is also one of the least densely populated countries on Earth.

Unsplash photos

These are the most popular photos on Unsplash for Guyana.

Guyana Photographer: Joshua Gobin

Guyana Photographer: Dinesh Chandrapal

Guyana Photographer: Dinesh Chandrapal

Find even more on

💬 country 🏷 guyana