Malawi Chichewa pronunciation: [maláβi]; Tumbuka: Malaŵi, officially the Republic of Malawi and formerly known as Nyasaland, is a landlocked country in Southeastern Africa. It is bordered by Zambia to the west, Tanzania to the north and northeast, and Mozambique to the east, south and southwest. Malawi spans over 118,484 km2 and has an estimated population of 19,431,566 . Malawi’s capital and largest city is Lilongwe. Its second-largest is Blantyre, its third-largest is Mzuzu and its fourth-largest is its former capital, Zomba.

Unsplash photos

These are the most popular photos on Unsplash for Malawi.

Malawi Photographer: Maria Zardoya

Malawi Photographer: Maria Zardoya

Malawi Photographer: Abrahan Echeverria

Find even more on

💬 country 🏷 malawi